Sleep talking? (and more)

Mary said she came into my bedroom last night and told me that she had been reading my blog. She said that I told her to make sure that all the words were there and that they hadn’t been stolen. I remember having this conversation and being very serious about trying to convince her of whatever I was saying. But obviously whatever I said made no sense at all! So was I sleep talking, or not? (Of course, even when I’m wide awake, I still don’t always make any sense at all…)

Mary and Ryan are on their way over to meet the rabbi for one of their pre-marital counseling sessions. They go to a messianic (Christian) synagogue, Congregation Gesher Shalom , and their wedding will have some distinctly Jewish elements to it. This should be very interesting! Mary says she’s looking forward to going to a Passover Seder soon. Thad and I went to one with some friends many years ago, and it was quite meaningful. I notice from their web site that Gesher Shalom even has their own home school support group!

We’ve been really grateful for the support that our own church, Metro Life, has given to home school families. Not only do we have a private school enrollment option (The Regent Academy), but we have support meetings for dads and moms, tutorial classes in certain high school subjects (for a reasonable weekly fee), enrichment classes for all ages, and an active sports program (varsity basketball and golf, adult intramural basketball, and soccer for the younger children). In addition, Metro Life has been very gracious about renting all of the classrooms to our Providence Home Educators co-op for Monday classes.

We actually spend a lot of time at “the building.” (My girls remind me that a church is not the building, the church is the people, so we say, “I’m driving to the building” rather than “I’m driving to the church.” This always amuses me, as much as I agree with their logic!) At least one of our kids is at “the building” nearly every day of the week, either for home school classes, work (Rachel is on the maintenance crew), playing or watching basketball, helping out with an Alpha class small group, or Sunday morning worship. I’m glad they like the place and the people so much! I do too!

About virginiaknowles

I am a mother and grandmother of a huge family, and I still home school my youngest daughter. I write to stay sane. My WordPress blog is a combination of my Blogspot blogs, and may not be continually updated.
This entry was posted in Jewish Heritage, Metro Life Church, My Children, Stress~Weariness. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

