Bookshelves on My Blog

Dear friends,

This past Saturday, I had the joy and privilege of teaching a workshop on “The Real 3R’s of Literature: Read, Reflect & Respond” at the second annual Books & Beyond seminar that my friend Cheryl Bastian organized. Eventually, I’ll post my notes for this (what I gave out as handouts) and upload the audio accompanied by pictures and captions. This may take a while, but I hope to have at least the first section done within the next week or so. I am doing this in conjunction with my next Hope Chest home school e-magazine issue.

One of the speakers I really enjoyed was a 19 year old young man named Andrew Day. He is the son of our friend Esther Day, whom we have known for many years. His workshop was on the books that have most influenced him in life. He did a stellar job on this, especially as he concluded his talk with a very reverent and passionate call for making the Bible the number one book in our lives. (I was very challenged and convicted. Thank you, Andrew. You are a blessing.)

Related to this, I was thinking this morning as I was waking up about how I would like to post my own list of books that have influenced me over the years. Then I stumbled across the www.GoodReads.com web site on a friend’s blog. It lets you easily type in the titles of books, create categorized lists, and then post them (complete with pictures of book covers) on your blog. So that’s what I did! I have already added over 40 books. If you scroll down the page on the right hand side, you will see books in my categories of:

  • Christ & Culture
  • Marriage
  • Children & Education
  • Christian Womanhood
  • Homemaking
  • Gary Thomas
  • The Christian Classics
  • Deeper Devotion
  • Theology
  • Christian Counseling
  • Wonder & Beauty
  • Health & Nutrition

I plan to create categories for Picture Books and Youth Fiction, but I don’t have time at the moment.

You can click on any book cover to read what I have commented about it, as well as the full title and author. You can even add your own comments.

If you are reading this via Facebook feed or e-mail, my blog is located at www.VirginiaKnowles.blogspot.com.

About virginiaknowles

I am a mother and grandmother of a huge family, and I still home school my youngest daughter. I write to stay sane. My WordPress blog is a combination of my Blogspot blogs, and may not be continually updated.
This entry was posted in Art~Beauty~Creativity, Authentic Life, Bible~Theology, Books and Authors, Education for Life, Homemaking, Marriage~Weddings, Motherhood. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

