Still Blooming on a Chilly Morning


“Consider how the wild flowers grow. 

They do not labor or spin. 

Yet I tell you not even Solomon 

 in all his splendor<sup class="crossreference" style="background-color: white; font-weight: bold; vertical-align: top;" value="(A)”> 

was dressed like one of these.”

Luke 12:27

All blooming in my yard
on a chilly March morning in Florida:
Indian hawthorn, camellia, violas, 
petunias, pansies, star jasmine, 
and mums that resurrected 
from dry stubs 
with a little patience.
I’m amazed that I still found 
two camellias on the bush,
and I’m awaiting the magnolias. 
“I must try and cultivate an eye for life’s mercies…
And life, while it has its ugly swamps, 
its vile weeds, and its sharp thorns,
has always its fair flowers 
to charm the eye with their beauty, 
or to fill the air with their fragrance…”

Rev. John Flowers Serjeant, 1878
as quoted on Pollywog Creek
Other flower posts for you…

Longwood Gardens

Consider the Camellias

All flower posts on this blog 

This post will be linked at: 

P52 Sweet Shot Tuesday with Kent Weakley 

About virginiaknowles

I am a mother and grandmother of a huge family, and I still home school my youngest daughter. I write to stay sane. My WordPress blog is a combination of my Blogspot blogs, and may not be continually updated.
This entry was posted in Flowers, God's Good Creation, http://schemas.google.com/blogger/2008/kind#post, Photographs, Sweet Shot Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Still Blooming on a Chilly Morning

  1. Janine says:

    Beautiful flower shots!

  2. What colors! Lots to look forward to see as the weather warms. Here we have daffodils blooming.

  3. Mary Reed says:

    We currently have 5 inches of snow on the ground! I'm looking forward to seeing some daffodils or crocuses peeking up through the soil! These pictures are beautiful!
    Visiting via Wholehearted Home!
    Blessings to you ~ Mary

  4. Linda Stoll says:

    Ah … to see these glorious blooms right now in NY would be a miracle! But patiently I await …

    Thanks for giving us a peak of color, Virginia!

  5. Great pictures all the way from Florida ~ welcome to the Sunday community.

  6. caryjo says:

    “Flowering” always makes me grin… and “birding” … and “treeing”. And many other things that keep me amazed at what the Lord has provided/created for this world.

    Thanks.

  7. Judith says:

    You make me jealous 😉 as we have patches of snow still up here in the north!! Thanks for linking this post up at WholeHearted Home.

Leave a Reply

